View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
T-BirDOffline
Post subject: R.I.P. Stick  PostPosted: Nov 18, 2006 - 12:27 AM
teh gam0r!!1~
teh gam0r!!1~

I found out this afternoon that Ryan Stich, aka "Stick", aka "Founder of the Auburn Computer Gaming Club and its first president" died in a fatal motorcycle accident about 2 weeks ago.

So the club should do something to commemorate him, I believe. It should be something somewhat permanent, as well. What, however, I don't really know yet. Any suggestions?

Even though we were both around at the beginning of the club (Fall 1996), I never knew Stick very well. I was a freshman, and he was (I think) a grad student...just as most of the old leadership was. I never got involved in the running of the club until I was secretary/treasurer several years later (and president 2000/2001). Until then, I was just some guy with long hair who showed up to play games (mostly Quake at the beginning). Stick's gaming tastes were usually a bit different.

My first significant memory is of the first O-Meeting, held in the second floor of the building on the northwest part of Toomer's Corner. I believe it was Little Anthony's Cigars at the time. The few of us (8 to 10?) were all crowded into one U-shaped booth with one person (either X or Stick) sitting on a chair on the open end of the table. We went around the table introducing ourselves, and when it was my turn, I gave my name, handle, gaming preferences, and said that my major was architecture.
IMMEDIATELY Stick says "Oh, so we won't be seeing you much." in a teasing tone.
....little did he know how wrong he was Wink

Later there was the Descent II 'Burger King' game, which may have been the most miserable 20 minutes of gaming in my life, as I had such a horrendous time controlling it.

Or the Minesweeper tournament (which was much more fun than it sounds like...shared misery can lead to fun times I guess).