View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
StickOffline
Post subject: Civilization IV 4/5  PostPosted: Dec 22, 2005 - 01:22 PM

This is my first time to play a Civ game, so I won't compare it to the others. I've been playing it pretty solid for about a month. I think I'm on the verge of winning my first game, but I've thought that before, and have always ended up losing.

PROS:
Fun, Interesting choices in the early game
Military Units are fairly balanced.
Auto-Management is well done.
World and National Wonders are interesting, competitive, strategic.

CONS:
Drags downt he CPU in the late years of a large game.
AI is sometimes predictable
Victory Conditions are not balanced. Large worlds seem to always have a space race victory
Limited number of buildings. A fine-tuned civ will quickly run out of improvements, making the build order strategic.
Difficulty levels should be different. (below)

I haven't played Multiplayer yet. Would like to try, but only if it is well done. It would be imperative that I be able to change build queues, give move orders and stuff when it wasn't my turn (the moves are carried out on my turn, of course).

I know more of you guys are playing it. What do you think for PROS and CONS? What map size and difficulty levels are you playing?

I started with the Standard and Big maps, but currently am playing the one slightly smaller than Standard (5 players), and I think it might make the Victory Conditions more doable. With the large maps I found it near impossible to hurt every Civ enough to keep them from completing the Space Race.