Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
MazingerOffline
Location: The Village
Post subject: HP Recovery CD  PostPosted: Apr 14, 2006 - 04:40 PM
Sniper on the Hill
Sniper on the Hill


Joined: Oct 21, 2004
Posts: 74
Location: The Village
Status: Offline
Huh, the first 3 posts of this board are all problems that I bring to the table, sad. Ok, my no. 1 disk of my HP Recovery Disks is sort of messing up, I was wondering if anyone had one or knew where I could buy an extra set or something?

_________________
"The Legend of Zelda? They should call it the Legend of that dumb bitch that can't stay out of trouble!" -Drunken Link
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jokeyxeroOffline
Location: Woodstock, GA
Post subject: RE: HP Recovery CD  PostPosted: Apr 14, 2006 - 07:33 PM
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Feb 04, 2004
Posts: 1346
Location: Woodstock, GA
Status: Offline
Try contacting HP.

_________________
xero
Webmaster - AU Computer Gaming Club

 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
vandylOffline
Location: Madison, AL
Post subject: RE: HP Recovery CD  PostPosted: Apr 15, 2006 - 03:53 AM
G0dlike
G0dlike


Joined: Feb 03, 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Madison, AL
Status: Offline
HP is really REALLY good about publishing the drivers that are loaded on the systems - have a look at the website support.

_________________
PhukFace: what d you get 72 virgins?
vandyl: yeah. unfortunately they were all members of either au gamers, au society of anime and manga, or both.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
fastbilly1Offline
Location: I get around
Post subject: RE: HP Recovery CD  PostPosted: Apr 15, 2006 - 01:02 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Feb 02, 2004
Posts: 1359
Location: I get around
Status: Offline
I might have one, Ill give it a look. I know I have an IBM one.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
MazingerOffline
Location: The Village
Post subject: Bang  PostPosted: Apr 17, 2006 - 01:53 PM
Sniper on the Hill
Sniper on the Hill


Joined: Oct 21, 2004
Posts: 74
Location: The Village
Status: Offline
HP just informed me that they don't carry recovery disks for Windows ME, just XP.

_________________
"The Legend of Zelda? They should call it the Legend of that dumb bitch that can't stay out of trouble!" -Drunken Link
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kurtmax_0Offline
Location:
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 17, 2006 - 03:51 PM
Color-Swapped Ninja
Color-Swapped Ninja


Joined: Oct 23, 2005
Posts: 1083

Status: Offline
Why do you need a recovery disk. I just "fixed" a dell notebook without one. Just a fresh os install and it runs about 10x faster than all that crap that comes on the recovery cds...
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
MazingerOffline
Location: The Village
Post subject: Recovery CD  PostPosted: Apr 18, 2006 - 03:16 PM
Sniper on the Hill
Sniper on the Hill


Joined: Oct 21, 2004
Posts: 74
Location: The Village
Status: Offline
Because I don't really know how to fix my computer without one.

_________________
"The Legend of Zelda? They should call it the Legend of that dumb bitch that can't stay out of trouble!" -Drunken Link
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jokeyxeroOffline
Location: Woodstock, GA
Post subject: RE: Recovery CD  PostPosted: Apr 18, 2006 - 05:34 PM
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Feb 04, 2004
Posts: 1346
Location: Woodstock, GA
Status: Offline
Exactly what do you need it for? I'm pretty sure whatever driver you need can be downloaded from the part's manufacturer's website.

_________________
xero
Webmaster - AU Computer Gaming Club

 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
fastbilly1Offline
Location: I get around
Post subject: RE: Recovery CD  PostPosted: Apr 18, 2006 - 07:39 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Feb 02, 2004
Posts: 1359
Location: I get around
Status: Offline
Sorry mate, xp disc here. Ive got an IBM me one, but that doesnt help much.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
MazingerOffline
Location: The Village
Post subject: Huh  PostPosted: Apr 19, 2006 - 08:43 PM
Sniper on the Hill
Sniper on the Hill


Joined: Oct 21, 2004
Posts: 74
Location: The Village
Status: Offline
I don't think I can do that, because it screwed up in the middle of the formatting process (Format & Recover). After my computer was done formatting, the disk that was needed to restore all the files on the computer started malfunctioning and without that disk, my computer is just a pile of parts really.

_________________
"The Legend of Zelda? They should call it the Legend of that dumb bitch that can't stay out of trouble!" -Drunken Link
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
PhukFaceOffline
Location:
Post subject: Re: Huh  PostPosted: Apr 19, 2006 - 09:07 PM
Color-Swapped Ninja
Color-Swapped Ninja


Joined: Jul 06, 2005
Posts: 1103

Status: Offline
      Mazinger wrote:
my computer is just a pile of parts really.


well that goes without saying [shrug]

_________________
She's Einstein, Her head is the greatest...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
SatertekOffline
Location: Huntsville, AL
Post subject: RE: Re: Huh  PostPosted: Apr 19, 2006 - 10:46 PM
Mobile Camper
Mobile Camper


Joined: Jun 29, 2005
Posts: 280
Location: Huntsville, AL
Status: Offline
Whatever you do, please, don't put Windows ME back on it.

_________________
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
jokeyxeroOffline
Location: Woodstock, GA
Post subject: RE: Re: Huh  PostPosted: Apr 20, 2006 - 06:00 PM
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Feb 04, 2004
Posts: 1346
Location: Woodstock, GA
Status: Offline
Obtain a copy of WinXP Pro and install it on that computer since you were formatting anyway. You'll be better much better off. You will not need that HP driver disk. There is nothing on that disk that HP doesn't offer on their website or that the part manfacturer doesn't offer on its website.

_________________
xero
Webmaster - AU Computer Gaming Club

 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
MazingerOffline
Location: The Village
Post subject: Customer Sevice  PostPosted: Apr 20, 2006 - 07:14 PM
Sniper on the Hill
Sniper on the Hill


Joined: Oct 21, 2004
Posts: 74
Location: The Village
Status: Offline
So Windows XP Pro can run off of 64MB of RAM? And if I do install it, will I have access to the internet so I can download, said, drivers and what-not?

_________________
"The Legend of Zelda? They should call it the Legend of that dumb bitch that can't stay out of trouble!" -Drunken Link
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ToastyOffline
Location:
Post subject: No XP.  PostPosted: Apr 21, 2006 - 01:45 AM
no0b
no0b


Joined: Apr 03, 2006
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
Please don't put XP on it. XP will barely run on 128MB of RAM, and 64 is just a deathwish. Your best bet is to find a copy of Windows 2000. All of the XP features, none of the XP bloat.

Or Linux, that's always an option!

Cheers,

Michael
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
kurtmax_0Offline
Location:
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 21, 2006 - 04:19 AM
Color-Swapped Ninja
Color-Swapped Ninja


Joined: Oct 23, 2005
Posts: 1083

Status: Offline
Actually, it's possible to run windows xp on 64mb of ram... heavily modified.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
SatertekOffline
Location: Huntsville, AL
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 21, 2006 - 04:49 PM
Mobile Camper
Mobile Camper


Joined: Jun 29, 2005
Posts: 280
Location: Huntsville, AL
Status: Offline
http://www.ubuntu.com/

Go for it, its actually very easy to use, and comes with every program you'll ever need incuded on the CD.

They'll even mail you one for free.

_________________
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
kurtmax_0Offline
Location:
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 21, 2006 - 04:59 PM
Color-Swapped Ninja
Color-Swapped Ninja


Joined: Oct 23, 2005
Posts: 1083

Status: Offline
      Satertek wrote:
http://www.ubuntu.com/

Go for it, its actually very easy to use, and comes with every program you'll ever need incuded on the CD.

They'll even mail you one for free.


I agree. Ubuntu is a great desktop distro. Make sure to get the beta version though "Dapper Drake". It has the latest version of gnome and it's MUCH faster...
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2009 The Zafenio Team
Credits