Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
jokeyxeroOffline
Location: Woodstock, GA
Post subject: TL7 Hardware: Networking/Power  PostPosted: Sep 26, 2004 - 09:56 AM
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Feb 03, 2004
Posts: 1346
Location: Woodstock, GA
Status: Offline
Reply to this with what hardware you can bring that's networking or power related. Be specific, e.g., 16 port switch, 5-port wireless router, 5-20ft CAT5 cables, 4 6 plug surge protectors, etc.

_________________
· xero
Webmaster - AU Computer Gaming Club

 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
BanditOffline
Location: Madison Alabama
Post subject: RE: TL7 Hardware: Networking/Power  PostPosted: Sep 26, 2004 - 04:38 PM
G0dlike
G0dlike


Joined: Feb 02, 2004
Posts: 855
Location: Madison Alabama
Status: Offline
DLink 4 port Router with Wireless 802.11g
16 Port Linksis Switch 10/100 Auto sense
16 Port 3Com Switch 10/100 Auto sense
2 50ft 1plug , 1 25ft 1 plug, 4 8ft with 3 plugs extention cords
And a whole lot of Cat5 cable ranging from 8in to 25ft.
3 Spare PC power cords
2 spare logitec PS2 Mice
2 spare headphones
1 Cable Crimper
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
vandylOffline
Location: Madison, AL
Post subject: RE: TL7 Hardware: Networking/Power  PostPosted: Sep 27, 2004 - 12:05 AM
G0dlike
G0dlike


Joined: Feb 02, 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Madison, AL
Status: Offline
If I can make it

5port 10/100 switch
~80' - 100' cat5 cable
a few 6 - 10' cat5 cables
2 50' extension cords, 1 can accept three plugs
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
RugerMK1Offline
Location:
Post subject: Teh etharnet cables!  PostPosted: Sep 27, 2004 - 04:57 PM
Sniper on the Hill
Sniper on the Hill


Joined: Sep 17, 2004
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
How do you guys mark your ethernet cables as being yours? I mean what kind of tag do you put on them? I have several middle to short ethernet cables I can bring but I want to know that I won't loose them inexplicably.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
jokeyxeroOffline
Location: Woodstock, GA
Post subject: RE: Teh etharnet cables!  PostPosted: Sep 27, 2004 - 07:43 PM
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Feb 03, 2004
Posts: 1346
Location: Woodstock, GA
Status: Offline
The club takes long file labels (the 3.5x.5 inch kind), writes "AU Gamers" or something similar on them then wraps the sticker around the cable near an end. I always try to put that end at the switch. I do the same thing for my cables but write "xero" on them. In sharpie of course.

_________________
· xero
Webmaster - AU Computer Gaming Club

 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
BanditOffline
Location: Madison Alabama
Post subject: RE: Teh etharnet cables!  PostPosted: Sep 28, 2004 - 07:06 AM
G0dlike
G0dlike


Joined: Feb 02, 2004
Posts: 855
Location: Madison Alabama
Status: Offline
Masking Tape on each end taped around the cable and to itself like a flag.

When I have special cables I make sure they are color coded if I make them myself or I put black electiral tape around it not in a flag shape. So it coats it.
1 Electrical tape = CAT 5
2 = CAT 5e
3 = CAT 6

If I was starting again today I would put the masking tape flag with a name on it with a unique number on each end. That way I would know even when they are plugged into a mass of cables which one was which. Then I would get different color sharpies and mark the edge of the flag to tell me what kind of cable it was.

Hmmmm I think I will go ahead and do that tonight when I get home.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
vandylOffline
Location: Madison, AL
Post subject: RE: Teh etharnet cables!  PostPosted: Sep 29, 2004 - 06:40 PM
G0dlike
G0dlike


Joined: Feb 02, 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Madison, AL
Status: Offline
I just remember where I put my cables. Generally, they're in my immediate vicinity.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2009 The Zafenio Team
Credits